Space Explorers New release and Birthday card

Hello Everyone! So My Favorite Things have just released the new adorable set called Space Explorers, I managed to purchase the stamp and die set from Seven Hills Craft which means that those of us in the UK could get the release at a similar time to our friends in the USA.

Keen to play with this set I started by stamping out lots of the images so I could test out some colouring options before I die cut them, I reached for the Copics here’s what I came up with;

img_1124

I then had to come up with a background for these cuties, I’ve discovered a love for blending distress ink on Strathmore Bristol smooth paper so I decided why not create a distress space scene and I did several of these, some circle and some square (die cut from Lawn Fawn Stitched Squares and Stitched Circles). This is what it looked like before I splattered white acrylic paint on it for the stars;

img_1135

Colours used – Crushed Olive, Seedless preserves, Chipped Sapphire & Black soot.

Once I had my space background and my images coloured I then put the card together, I wanted to keep this simple. For the sentiment I stamped the words “Mission Control we have a birthday” with Ranger Perfect Medium embossing ink and then embossed with Ranger Liquid Platinum embossing powder.

I adhered the space background onto a 5.5 x 5.5 inch card base with dimensional foam tape, added some foam tape onto the astronaut and adhered the rest of the images with double sided tape.  For finishing details I added some more stars with white gel pen on the space background.

This is how the finished card came out;

fullsizeoutput_d58

I’m really happy with how this card came out and I have several more cards to make with the left over images to make but that’s on tomorrow’s list 🙂

Thanks for reading and I hope you like the card.

4 thoughts on “Space Explorers New release and Birthday card

Leave a Reply

