Quick & easy watercolour greeting card

Hi everyone! Today is a rainy Sunday so this afternoon I spent some time working on some new cards. One of the cards I created is a quick and simple watercolour card using stamps from Mama Elephant, the stamp set used today is Ella & Friends which includes the cute little rabbit and unforgettable elephant.

A full list of supplies used for this creation will be listed at the bottom of the page.

I started using Lawn Fawn’s large stitched stackable square, I die cut the largest square from Canson 300gsm watercolour paper. I then used my Misti tool to hold the card in place whilst laying out the scene ready to stamp, once the stamps were in position I used Ranger Archival jet black ink to create a crisp image ready for painting.

Next comes my favourite part, time for watercolouring. I used the Kuretake Clean Color Real Brush Watercolour Brush Pens to colour this image and I kept it simple for this image. You can see how I colour the image on the time lapse uploaded to my Instagram page.   For the sentiment I used Versafine Embossing ink and then covered with Ranger Liquid Platinum embossing powder, this is one of my favourite embossing powders.

For a finishing touch I added glossy accents onto the bubbles for a little shine and dimension. To complete the card I mounted the watercolour image onto a textured striped piece of paper from Fancy Pants Summer Sun 6×6 paper pad collection which I then trimmed down and fixed to a 300gsm 5×5 inch white card.

il_570xN.1033319112_iy5r

Close up of the finished card

il_570xN.1033319114_td9l

Supplies used:

  • Canson 3o0gsm watercolour paper
  • Mama Elephant Ella & Friends Stamp Set
  • Lawn Fawn Large stitched square stackables
  • Misti Stamp Tool
  • Ranger Archival Jet Black Ink
  • Kuretake Clean Colour Real Brush Markers
  • Versafine Embossing Ink
  • Ranger Liquid Platinum embossing powder
  • Fancy Pants Summer Sun 6×6 paper pad
  • Scotch ATG Gun adhesive
  • 300gsm white cardstock for 5×5 inch card
  • Ranger glossy accents

This card is now for sale on my Etsy store.

Leave a Reply

